Theodore Roosevelt American History Award

Hier de subtitel

Every year the RIAS presents the Theodore Roosevelt American History Award (TRAHA) for the best Master's  thesis written by a graduate student at a Dutch university on an American history topic.


Sponsored by the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation, the American Embassy in The Hague, and the Province of Zeeland, the TRAHA is designed to stimulate the study of United States history and culture. The award also encourages students to use the unique RIAS archival resources.

Since the establishment of the award in 1987 (called the Lawrence J. Saunders Award from 1987-1994 and from 1995  the TRAHA) the Dutch universities with American History / American Studies, or History programs (Amsterdam, Groningen, Leiden, Nijmegen, Utrecht, Rotterdam, Maastricht) have nominated over 270 Master's theses for the Award.

For all full list of theses nominated since the beginning of the award, see here

Emma van Toorn

TRAHA 2020

Awarded to Emma van Toorn for her thesis "Faith Floods the Desert"
Queeny van der Spek

TRAHA 2019

Won by Queeny van der Spek for her thesis "Hitler's Gift to America"

TRAHA 2018

Awarded to Megan Griffiths (Leiden) for her thesis on the Salem witchcraft trials
TRAHA 2017

TRAHA 2017

Won by Renee de Groot (UvA) for her work on alternate histories of the Civil War
TRAHA 2016

TRAHA 2016

Awarded to Martina van Cimmenaede (UvA) for her study of the history of sexual harassment, 1940-1975