Four Freedoms

Hier de subtitel

Franklin D. RooseveltOn 6 January 1941 President Franklin Roosevelt gave a speech to the US Congress which outlined the fundamental principles for a peaceful and democratic world. Known as the 'Four Freedoms' speech, Roosevelt proclaimed the following as essential attributes for mankind:
  • Freedom of speech and expression
  • Freedom of worship
  • Freedom from want
  • Freedom from fear

Full text of the 'FDR Four Freedoms Speech 1941

In recognition of this legacy, after World War II the Roosevelt Institute presented Four Freedoms Medals to American men and women who have demonstrated a commitment to these principles. Since 1945 the list of recipients has included some of the most distinguished Americans of our time:Harry S. Truman, General George C. Marshall, John F. Kennedy, Adlai E. Stevenson, W. Averell Harriman, George F. Kennan, John Kenneth Galbraith, J. William Fulbright, Elie Wiesel, Arthur Miller, and Jimmy Carter.

In 1982, to commemorate the centennial of President Roosevelt's birth and the bicentennial of diplomatic relations between the United States and the Netherlands, it was decided to expand the Four Freedoms ceremony by inaugurating an international award. The first international awards were held in that year in the Abbey of Middelburg, the Netherlands, and they continue to take place here every two years. In the years in between these international awards the American ceremony is held in Hyde Park, New York.

The Roosevelt Stichting is a private foundation established to organize the Four Freedoms Awards ceremony in Middelburg, for which it cooperates closely with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute.

The work of the Roosevelt Institute represents a continuing dedication to the faith that Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt embodied so elegantly: A faith in human freedom, in social purpose, in the inexhaustible strength of democracy, and in the abiding capacity of humanity to make the world a better place.

To learn more about the laureates, please visit the four freedoms website.

The speeches of the laureates in Middelburg are published by the Roosevelt Study Center in a separate book series.