Announcement: TRAHA 2019

The 2019 Theodore Roosevelt American History Award was awarded to Queeny van der Spek (Amsterdam).

TRAHA Winners and Jury

The RIAS awards the annual Theodore Roosevelt American History Award (TRAHA) to the best thesis on American history defended at a Dutch university. The TRAHA is designed to stimulate the study of American history and culture, as well as encourage students to use the unique archival resources at the RIAS. This year's jury consisted of Dr. Dario Fazzi (RIAS, Chair), Megan Griffiths (2018 TRAHA Winner), Tim Jelfs (Groningen), and Sara Polak (Leiden). The prize is generously supported by the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation, the United States Embassy in the Netherlands, Elsevier Weekblad, and the Province of Zeeland. 

Queeny van der Spek won the first prize for her thesis "Hitler’s Gift to America: American Motivations to Rescue Displaced Scientists from Europe in the 1930s," which won praise for its compelling argument, skillful use of historical materials, and the quality of its writing. The first prize consists of a bust of Theodore Roosevelt and a trip to the United States, to visit TR's old ranching-grounds in North Dakota.

The jury also awarded a second prize to Lennart Bolwijn, the author of "Dogma, Romance and Double Consciousness: The Dilemmas of the New Negro Generation through the Travels of Otto Huiswoud and Claude McKay," which it praised as an "original reconstruction" of the intersections between the Harlem Renaissance, the Popular Front, and the rise of Communism in Europe. The second prize is a year's subscription to ​Elsevier Weekblad.

To read the full jury report, see here.