TRAHA 2018 Travel Report

Megan Griffiths, this year's winner of the Theodore Roosevelt American History Award, has returned from her visit to the United States.  

Megan Griffiths
Since 1987 the Roosevelt Study Center presented the yearly Theodore Roosevelt American History Award (TRAHA) to the best thesis on American history defended at Dutch universities. The TRAHA is designed to stimulate the study of United States history and culture, as well as encourage students to use the unique archival resources at the RIAS. This year the TRAHA has been sponsored by the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation, the United States Embassy in the Netherlands, and the Province of Zeeland. It was also the first occasion on which the prize was co-sponsored by Elsevier Weekblad, which presented its own prize to the winner. The jury consisted of Dr. Cees Heere (RIAS), Dr. Roel van den Oever (VU), Dr. Laura Visser-Maessen (Radboud University Nijmegen), and Renee de Groot (TRAHA winner 2017).

The 2018 Theodore Roosevelt American History Award was won by Megan Griffiths, a graduate student at Leiden University, for her thesis "Radicals, Conservatives, and the Salem Witchcraft Crisis: Exploiting the Fragile Communities of Colonial New England." Her prize consisted of a bust of Theodore Roosevelt and a trip to TR's old ranching-grounds in North Dakota.

​Megan's report from her travels is now available to read.